Planning Committees

33rd  Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. University-wide Commemoration Planning Committee:

  • Samia Cooperider, MLK, Jr. Commemoration Adviser; Program Coordinator, Service and Leadership,
    Office of Student Activities
  • Ellie Chapman, Administrative Assistant, Paul Robeson Cultural Center
  • Melissa Doberstein, Director, Presidential Leadership Academy
  • Kelli Dowd, Program Coordinator, Service and Leadership, Office of Student Activities
  • Erin Duckworth, Administrative Support Assistant, Multicultural Resource Center
  • A. Kikora Franklin, Associate Professor of Theatre/Dance, College of the Liberal Arts
  • Alia Gant, Diversity Resident Librarian, Libraries Administration Deans Office
  • Jose Guerrero, Diversity Resident Librarian, Libraries Administration Deans Office
  • Borja Gutiérrez, Assistant Teaching Professor of Spanish and Administrative Supervisor of Spanish 2 and 3
  • Mathias Hanses, Assistant Professor of Classics and Ancient Mediterranean Studies, College of the Liberal Arts
  • Dan Hendey, Head of School, State College Friends School
  • Kevin Kassab, Community Engagement Manager, State College Borough
  • Jeanne Knouse, Director of Learning Enrichment, Gifted Support and Student Services, State College Area School District
  • Leslie Laing, Past President, Forum on Black Affairs; Assistant Director, Adult Learner Programs
  • Peter Miraldi, Senior Lecturer, Internship Coordinator, and Outreach and Recruitment Coordinator, Department of Communication Arts and Sciences
  • Molly Nulty, Assistant Director, Welcome Programs, Student Orientations and Transitions Programs
  • Jacqueline Peagler, Cataloging Specialist, Cataloging and Metadata Services
  • Madeline (Maddy) Pryor, Social Media Specialist, Office of Strategic Communications
  • Brent Stump, Music and AV Cataloger, University Libraries
  • Ben Wideman, Campus Pastor, 3rd Way Collective
  • Matthew Woessner, University Faculty Senate Chair, Senior Lecturer

33rd Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Student Planning Committee:

  • Executive Director: Symone McCollum
  • Day of Service Co-Director: Emily Tegland
  • Day of Service Co-Director: Wendell Cupid
  • Day of Service Co-Director: Sheridan Dade
  • Evening Celebration Director: Awaly Diallo
  • Evening Celebration Director: Christopher Carver
  • Community and Faculty Outreach Co-Director: Brian Davis
  • Campus Events Co-Director: Bana Kaleab
  • Campus Events Co-Director: Yumna Ahmed
  • Public Relations: Rosalyn Guest
  • Public Relations: Xianli Fu

Past Chairs

  • Dr. Moses K. Davis (2015 – 2017)
  • Dr. Marcus A. Whitehurst (2007 – 2015)
  • Dr. Thomas G. Poole (1998 – 2007)
  • Dr. James B. Stewart (1992 – 1998)
  • Dr. Grace Hampton (1986 – 1992)
  • Dr. James B. Stewart (1985 – 1986)